Seasons of the Witch

The Sabbats are seasonal festivals which mark the turning of the Wheel of the Year and the cycles of nature. Pagans celebrate eight Sabbats; the Summer and Winter Solstices, the Spring and Autumn Equinoxes and the quarter days or fire festivals -
 Samhain, Imbolc, Beltaine and Lughnasadh.
Rather than thinking of the year as linear, witches view it as a circle. Each spoke of the wheel corresponds to a particular degree in the zodiac and marks a high-energy holiday known as a Sabbat. The wheel has its roots in the old agricultural festivals which marked the beginnings, peaks, and endings of the seasons. Our ancestors celebrated these holidays even before recorded time and we still carry on some traditions today. 
I’m currently working over the course of the year to complete this project in celebration of the each Sabbat.
 Each animation will focus on elements about the time of year. 
(Text and information referenced from Skye Alexander's, The Modern Guide to Witchcraft)

STAY TUNED!​​​​​​​

Summer Solstice or Midsummer
In the Northern Hemisphere, the summer solstice is the longest day of the year. Celebration usually begins around June 21st, when the sun is 0 degrees in Cancer. This is a time of abundance, when the earth puts forth her bounty. At this point, the sun has reached its pinnacle and begins its decent once again. 
Lammas or Lughnassadh
This holiday received its name from the Irish Celtic god Lugh, and is celebrated on August 1st or around August 5th when the sun reaches 15 degrees Leo. This cross-quarter day falls halfway between the Summer Solstice and the Fall Equinox, and marks the first of the harvest festivals. Corn, wheat, and other grains are harvested around Lammas to begin preparing for the barren winter months that are to come.
Back to Top